Another spam referrer
While browsing through blog stats, I noticed the following domain:
tecrep-inc.net
There seems to be a lot of spam referrers coming to my blog where the referrer is a subdomain of the main tecrep-inc.net site.
In some cases the incoming IP of the spammer that comes via this tecrep-inc.net subdomain also came a few times to my blog via the http://12.163.72.13 non-existant URL (as mentioned previously)
Looks like our spammers are evolving as they see fit to do so, but haven’t totally done away with their old stuff!
- Update: Looks like the entire domain has been shutdown… Due to “mis-proper use of the hosting account”
January 31st, 2005 at 04:08 pm
I don’t believe this to be the case. I’ve seen a lot of these messages in my referrer log. Given the horrendus use of English on these, I suspect it’s just getting the next big wave set.
March 19th, 2005 at 06:13 pm
The shutdown messages are quite often forged. Idea being “stick a page up that says ‘this site has been shut down’ as the index page, and keep all the content within – ergo someone will come, look, see that it has been ‘shut down’, and not inform the hosting provider”.