Archive for the 'Comment Spam' Category
Monday, March 17th, 2008
There seems to be a lot of comment spam at the moment where the content is just a pair of <a>Â </a> tags with no other content. The common point linking most of them is their email address being usually an @mail.com, and a handful with @berlin.com. Or more specifically, the following: – heel@mail.com – [...]
Posted in Comment Spam | No Comments »
Thursday, December 8th, 2005
I’ve been using this Comment/Trackback spam stopping plugin for WordPress called Akismet since yesterday. Thus far, it’s caught 69 comment spams. And all 69 of those were genuine comment spams. I’m impressed with it thus far. But since this blog is fairly low on the blog comment traffic, I haven’t noticed any non-spam comments getting [...]
Posted in Blogging, Comment Spam | 2 Comments »
Friday, September 2nd, 2005
Damn, looks like some of those links in the “spam” comments are links to real blogs. There’s many “abandoned” blogs out there, and it looks like these spammers are taking advantage of them by putting all of their spam links in the comments area of those blogs: I guess when one thought the “fight” against [...]
Posted in Blogging, Comment Spam, General | 1 Comment »
Sunday, March 20th, 2005
This is interesting… Is it a coincidence that I posted one blog entry, and published once, then edited it and republished it again… Then a few minutes later I get two trackback spams? Could it be that when my blog “pings” one of the ping servers that pingomatic.com one of the bots checks for the [...]
Posted in Comment Spam | 3 Comments »
Sunday, February 6th, 2005
Matters of spam of all sorts, comment spam, referrer spam, trackback spam… all look like they are targetting bloggers of all sorts… What’s next on the list? Anyway, out of curiosity, I decided to do domain whois on the various referrer spam URLs, as well as visit their actual domain (not the subdomain they actually [...]
Posted in Blogging, Comment Spam, General | 1 Comment »
Friday, January 28th, 2005
While browsing through blog stats, I noticed the following domain: tecrep-inc.net There seems to be a lot of spam referrers coming to my blog where the referrer is a subdomain of the main tecrep-inc.net site. In some cases the incoming IP of the spammer that comes via this tecrep-inc.net subdomain also came a few times [...]
Posted in Blogging, Comment Spam, General | 2 Comments »
Wednesday, January 19th, 2005
This is a new initiative to prevent comment spam. There are perhaps many more blogs than I list below mentioning this… – GoogleBlog – MSN Search Blog – Six Apart There is a WordPress plugin already developed which implements the nofollow stuff, so you don’t need to wait until there’s an updated wordpress that makes [...]
Posted in Blogging, Comment Spam, General | No Comments »
Wednesday, January 5th, 2005
Got 2 Trackbacks on my blog overnight. Here they are: #1: Website: jzlmiiv URI : http://xtjegohtvuvwx.com/ Excerpt: <trackback /><strong>lgjalpppa</strong> twxdeaeffep #2: Website: vcoazrkyq URI : http://iroycskuvwx.com/ Excerpt: <trackback /><strong>ihpivek</strong> vhalvciyy So why do I think it could be spam? Well, all the listed details are just plain gibberish, and also neither of the domains are [...]
Posted in Blogging, Comment Spam, General | 1 Comment »
Tuesday, October 26th, 2004
One interesting thing to note is a non-existant website (http://12.163.72.13) has a GoogleRank of 4/10. [If you don't know why that above web address is of interest, go read my previous post]. So how does a website that does not exist, end up being given a GoogleRank of 4 out of 10? Well, some individuals [...]
Posted in Blogging, Comment Spam, General | No Comments »
Wednesday, October 6th, 2004
I’ve been getting a lot of comment spam over the last few days and there is one key element that is the same, and that is they all come via the following referrer: http://12.163.72.13 The IPs may differ, but the referrer has consistantly come from the same address. I doubt I am the only one [...]
Posted in Blogging, Comment Spam, General | 11 Comments »